Music Fans

Join OurStage to discover and listen to new music from great indie artists.

Login or sign up


Get exposure building your fan base and selling music.

Find opportunities through our competitions.

Artist Sign Up



Video Playback Error

The Adobe Flash Player is required to watch videos on this page
Portrait of utopium


About utopium

suresnes, France


Utopium is a four-piece multicultural rock-band based in Paris and comprising singer and guitarist, Maxime Petrovski (Russia), guitarist Andy Soto (Mexico), bassist Tito de Pinho (Portugal/Spain/France) and drummer Guillaume Labaume (France).

In the spring of 2000, Utopium went to London to record their first EP co-produced by an English team, Simon Lovelace and Andy Davies. This EP was warmly greeted by some French media. Thus, Rockmag (2001, N°13) wrote that ‘with their brilliantly produced tracks, Utopium have got it all and are sure to be part of the next French pop-rock wave’, whilst Rock Sound stressed the quality of the work comparing the band to the Smashing Pumpkins, Placebo or My Bloody Valentine. From 2001 to 2003, the band played various prestigious Parisian venues and recorded another EP entitled ‘Persistance’. In that album, Utopium took a slight post-rock turn while keeping, according to Magic! (2004, N°72), ‘visceral and slightly haughty vocal delivery à la Billy Corgan combined with crazy accelerations of smashing distorted guitars’.

In 2005, Utopium recorded their first LP ‘No Memory Man’, more atmospheric and noisier than ever before. The album was welcomed by critics, some of them going as far as calling it ‘a terrible, monstrous, and super-powerful atomic bomb’ ( or ‘an album which is as varied and faultless, as it is succeeded and transcendent’ ( After having recorded ‘No Memory Man’, Utopium was noticed and signed by the Dutch/Belgian indie label ‘Planet of Sounds’ that organised the band’s first tours abroad: in Europe (Belgium and the Netherlands) and Asia (Thailand, Singapore, Malaysia). In spring 2008, Utopium started the recording of their fourth album at Chemical Sound Studios in Toronto, benefiting from the artistic input of two Canadian producers, Dean Marino and Jay Sadlowski, who had worked with bands like Godspeed You!, Tokyo Police Club or the Born Ruffians. Straight after the recording was completed, the band left touring in Europe (Denmark, Germany, Belgium, the Netherlands, Luxembourg, France, the Czech Republic) in May-June of the same year. The new album ‘Doubleplusgood’ is scheduled to come out on the 18th of February 2009 in Europe.


Doubleplusgood (2009)
No Memory Man (2006)
Persistance (2003)
We are (2001)


Andres Soto: guitars, soundscapes
Guillaume Labaume: drums
Tito de Pinho: bass
Maxime Petrovski : voice, guitares



More About The Artist

Portrait of utopium